With a choice of 24 unique rooms including suites, breakfast area, stylish bar, two relaxing lounge areas, a stunning outside terrace with a living wall and indulgent treatment rooms in the Spa, relax with quality, comfort and enjoy the quirkiness unique of St Giles House Hotel. A dog-friendly hotel too (subject to ground floor rooms only.)
Their delicious menus include; Festive Afternoon Tea, Sunday Roast and more. Something to offer everyone! (Please note, any booking for 8 or more require a pre-order).
St Giles House is one of the oldest hotels in Norwich, a grade 11* listed building and was built in 1852. The reason behind it being star listed related to the 15th-century under croft in the cellar. The undercroft was at the original street level. However, this building did not start its life as a hotel. This spectacular building was originally the HQ for the London and Norwich Fire Insurance Company. After being destroyed – rather ironically by a fire in 1900/1901, the famous architect George Skipper designed a brand new HQ for their General Accident Department.
During the second world war, secret government meetings took place in the Walnut Suite on the 3rd floor. Government and military officials would traverse secret underground tunnels that go all the way from St Giles Church to the unde rcroft / cellar area at St Giles House and hold wartime meetings in the board room.
In 1968 much of the telephone house (as it was locally referred to) was knocked down, although the modern-day restaurant area was subsequently added. By this time the Regional GPA became part of the British Telecom until about 1990 when the building gradually became redundant and soon derelict.
The hotel was then purchased in 2000 with the intention of transforming it into a Boutique Hotel, Bistro & Spa and officially opened its doors in October 2005.